Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Aaaand we're back!

I know its been a while so I figured I would make a quick update.  Tim and I have moved from the old apartment to the new one.  We're mostly unpacked now although there is definitely quite a bit to do around the apartment.  We haven't put up any pictures although we have finally put all our current furniture in their spaces.  We're waiting to catch up on all those lovely moving in expenses before we get new furniture but its really going to change the look of this place a ton!  Right now we're looking at a new couch, two nightstands, a corner desk for Tim, a tv stand, another dresser, possibly some side tables, a cabinet for games, lamps and eventually some chairs and barstools.  That's all.  Ha.

So in the week and a half that we've lived here, we have gotten higher speed internet, DirectTV and wow thats a change.  Way faster internet is amazing and well, we've certainly caught lots of Bravo tv specials...especially the RHOA and RHOBH.

Other than that, life is different but good.  Very busy settling in and then my MoH, Amanda's wedding is in December so we'll be doing all sorts of fun things with that!

Friday, October 26, 2012

Wedding Weekend Part 3: The Ceremony and Reception

So RIGHT before I walked into the church, my stomach was doing flip flops.  My corset felt too tight, my heart beat was insane I got out of the limo and was so nervous that I couldn't stop shaking.  Then it was time to walk down the aisle.  I was ok for the first few seconds.

Aaaand by the time that I got to the end of the aisle, I looked more like this....

Yes, that is me, the oh so bleary eyed mess.  I could not get myself to stop crying.  It was all just going so quickly and obviously a little more overwhelming than I had expected.  Fortunately by the first reading or so, Tim's mother's phone rang and it knocked me out of my crying immediately.  The rest of the ceremony went perfectly.  After my initial boo hooing, it was all good.  The priest cried, we hugged, we kissed...

And then we were super excited to head to the reception!

See?  No more tears.  So we left the church and then headed to the back waiting area until the guests had left so we could take pictures.  While we were back there, the priest thought he was super hilarious and brought out 3 little girls and told me to designate which ones would be brides and which would be nuns.  I seriously hope the videographer caught this.  I'm not sure who was more horrified...them or me.  It was just SO wrong!!  I decided that it would be best to say brides...not that there's anything wrong with nuns but seriously, you could give a kid a complex with something like that.  Pictures went well until we went outside and realized that the limo driver had totally left with all our bags/phones etc.  I was livid.  Slight segue...I have never written such a horrifying review for a company ever.  Not only did that happen but the customer service was actually even worse.  But anyhow back to happier things.

So after wrapping up at the church we got to the reception.  It went so fast that I still can't believe it.  We had the first dance, ate amazing food, had the most epic cupcake tower ever, all the decorations that we spent so much time on were gorgeous and we had an amazing getaway car.  We hardly danced, missed saying hello to a bunch of guests, had a cupcake thief before the cake was cut, some slight wedding party drama and had a song skip and had to pick a replacement for the bouquet toss.  And yet, it was all still wonderful.  There were so many friends and relatives we hadn't seen in a long time (some we had never met), loud bad singing and some pretty fantastically awful dance moves.  I would say it was a huge success.





Sunday, October 21, 2012

Wedding Weekend Part 1: The Rehearsal

Since I'm taking a little bit of a blog hiatus while we unpack our new apartment, I'll be posting the details of our wedding.  I'll be back soon!

While its still fresh in my mind, I thought I would start blogging about our wedding.  It would be a crazy long read if I did it all at once and I'm pretty sure that I'll take several days to type it all out.  I'm not sure how I'll break the weekend up and it will cover basically everything that went down.  I'll won't air anyone else's dirty laundry for sure but I will say that having one of Tim's groomsmen on his side and 2 girls that dated him on my side was probably not one of our brightest moves.  That's basically all that's worth saying about that.  Moving on....

My morning on September 14th was relatively well plotted out.  I was going to leisurely go to look at the wedding flowers after 10, go to the hall to set up for the reception around noon and then shower/relax until our rehearsal at 5 (getting there a few minutes early).  So I started off my morning with a walk, a nice cup of coffee, catching up on some tv shows and got a call from the caterer a little before 10.  She started by asking how I was doing, whether I was freaking out or calm.  Then came the words that no bride wants to hear..."We're having a little problem...." so I raced down to the hall and with the help of the caterer and her assistant literally rearranged the entire hall and rotated the entire layout 90 degrees so we could have a nice large dance floor instead of a 3 foot wide dance...aisle (no really, I'm not exaggerating.  I don't think that my dress would have even fit in that space let alone multiple people).  Then my mom and I sped off to look at the flowers (simple and gorgeous) and ran back to my apartment to meet my maid of honor A, her fiance J and Tim at my apartment to gather up all the decorations, favors, menus, alcohol and rock back to the hall.  We cranked out set up in about 2 hours, checked in at the hotel, ran out to Chick fil A, showered changed and went to the rehearsal at the church.  And waited.  And waited.

Did I mention that we waited?  

Yeah about half an hour after our rehearsal should have started, we found out the priest was stuck in traffic about 20 minutes away.  So once we got it going it went really well.  I totally freaked Tim a little bit towards the end when the priest said "You may now kiss the bride" I decided that it would be fantastic to lean over and whisper "Don't do it!"  Tim froze.  He had such a panicked deer in the headlights look that I could not get over it.  We wrapped up the rehearsal and had a fantastic dinner where Tim's stepmother said that she had the best crabcakes she's had in her life.

Afterwards, matron of honor M went home with her husband, Tim's sister K (also one of my bridesmaids) went home and the rest of the girls went to my hotel room to hang out.  We stayed up until after midnight gossiping, steaming dresses, a speedy run back to my apartment when I realized that I had forgotten my something old/borrowed/blue at home.  I was somewhere between crazy exhausted and super wired about the wedding by the time it was all over with.

The table set up once we were done...before the final touches were added by the caterer and decorator.

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

FIVE

Well last night we FINALLY got some news on the apartment.  Actually more than just news.  WE SIGNED THE LEASE and we're moving in on Monday!!  I can't wait to finally move in 5 days.  So last night after dinner, Tim went to class and I started working on boxing up the kitchen.  Last night's boxes included the majority of the bakeware and a lot of the pantry food.  I thought that we had been making good progress on packing up the apartment until I realized just how much there still is to do!  To top it off, we are down to about 5 boxes.  I hope my boss is in today because he has quite a few moving boxes that he's been holding onto for me (since his move this summer).  Otherwise, I do believe that we've just about hit that fun part of moving where you start shoving everything into whatever bags and oddball containers that you can find!  We do have the majority of the books, wedding things and about half the kitchen packed up.  Today I'm hoping to tackle the bathroom and anything left on the bookshelves.  It is a full work week for me (Tim too) but next week I took Monday off and am already scheduled off for Friday so that will help SO much.  We bought our new bed over the weekend...I'm still freaking out a little about having had to get financing on the bed.  Its my first debt ever other than what bit I have on my credit card each month (that gets paid off in full every month)...honestly I didn't think that I would need any financing until I was ready to buy a house.  But that's life for you!  So we've had an oddball cold snap lately.  Monday the high was 46....BRRRRR.  Yesterday was in the low 50s, today's high is 71.  The rest of the week is supposed to be back and forth between the 60s and 70s.  I guess it really is fall now.

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

And a Happy Hour it Was


Last week my friend at work asked if I wanted to grab a drink after work. As silly as it sounds, I was SO excited that my life has finally slowed down enough that I could actually say yes. So we decided to go to a local pub, however that was soooo crowded that even the neighboring businesses and streets had full parking lots. Don't get me wrong, that place is fantastic but being in a small over crowded place after a long work day is SO not my scene. So we decided to go across the street to a cute little cafe. I had a mango martini (which from what I saw looked like equal parts of mango nectar and mango vodka) and ordered an AMAZING cheese platter.
Seriously that good. Not much is new this past week. It's been a busy work week and the weekend just sped right by.  Still no word on the official move in date...we did get an email saying that we're  still on track for the 15th but our lease signing hasn't been scheduled yet.  I'm glad that I didn't use more leave than I did for the wedding so I can take a day or two for the move (or several half days).

Our wedding pictures came back and they are just so amazing. I can't rave about Sandi enough. When Tim and I had first been engaged and were setting up the wedding budget, we went through all of the things that were really important to us. For me it was the pictures because at the end of the day, that's all that is left.  Here's a sneak peek...




They're all gorgeous and fantastic.  Sandi did such a phenomenal job.  I'll post more once I release the photo link and when I blog about the wedding (slowly coming along).  Such a lovely day.

Tonight I'm a lone wolf (oooow-wooooooo).  Tim's in class, its raining pretty heavily and until we have word on the apartment, we're a little stuck on packing.  I cooked a quick dinner earlier but now I think I'm going to use the evening to relax and watch some tv shows online.  I think Tim and I are both looking forward to actually being able to watch tv...on the television.  When it airs.  Just a few weeks more until cable at the new place!  For now, its back to Bones only a week late.