Friday, November 30, 2012
Another one Bites the Dust
Thursday, November 15, 2012
Thirty days
But I digress. The new place is so great. Our favorite oddball perks include a free use Flavia machine (like a Keurig but with packets instead of the k-cups) and a 24 hour gym. Tim's personal favorite thing is the valet trash service. It is pretty cool...Sunday through Thursday night we just have to put our trash outside the door by 8 PM and by 9 PM its taken away! Neat but wow I would never pay for that silliness. Speaking of which, I should probably get it out the door soon, before I forget again.
It's the thirty day marker to the Honeymoon. I'm glad that we waited a little bit before taking it, it will be such a nice break after the craziness of the last few months. Once it's over, we have my MoH's wedding and then no plans after that!
This past weekend we cooked a lot. We made Chicken and Dumplings in the crockpot and then the hubs made a small vat of French Dip in the crockpot Monday. The Au Jus wasn't quite right so that's a recipe that I may have to rework before sharing. The Chicken and Dumplings (highly altered from the original) recipe will be posted here soon. I do want to have another go at it and make it more soupy (not so...chicken pot pie sort of consistency) and lighten it up a smidgeon.
Thankfully, today was my last day of work for the week. My brain is kaput. Tomorrow is finally my post-wedding hair chop. I'm so excited to get rid of my stale hair cut. I go between 2 main styles...SHORT and LONG. Short has a lot of layers and is kinda funky and long is a layer about shoulder length and the other is however long my hair is. My hair person wants to do something drastic with lots of layers that isn't long or short. I don't quite understand it myself so pictures to come! Then I have a meeting with the old landlord to get the deposit back (yay extra money) and dinner with Tim's mom in the evening. Saturday we have Weight Watchers in the morning and an afternoon Turkey Trot walk. Just a little jealousy here...Life has been crazy lately (hence the not posting much lately) so my diet and exercise are all out of whack. I haven't gained a ton...3ish pounds, but I'm so stinking close to my goal that its making me be in a funk. Tim on the other hand has lost 11 pounds since we got marriage. Soooo not right. I'm having him put chips up really high in the pantry for me now. It's nice being married to someone a few inches taller than me for stuff like this...versus my constantly jumping up and down on a step stool to do the same thing.
Derailed again. Right. Saturday we also need to get some groceries and if I don't have time Friday, stopping at the bank as well. Sunday I have my dress fitting for my MoH's wedding and then a mulling wine tasting with some friends in the afternoon. Then just 3 days of work and Turkey Day!!
Wednesday, October 31, 2012
Aaaand we're back!
So in the week and a half that we've lived here, we have gotten higher speed internet, DirectTV and wow thats a change. Way faster internet is amazing and well, we've certainly caught lots of Bravo tv specials...especially the RHOA and RHOBH.
Other than that, life is different but good. Very busy settling in and then my MoH, Amanda's wedding is in December so we'll be doing all sorts of fun things with that!
Friday, October 26, 2012
Wedding Weekend Part 3: The Ceremony and Reception
Aaaand by the time that I got to the end of the aisle, I looked more like this....
Yes, that is me, the oh so bleary eyed mess. I could not get myself to stop crying. It was all just going so quickly and obviously a little more overwhelming than I had expected. Fortunately by the first reading or so, Tim's mother's phone rang and it knocked me out of my crying immediately. The rest of the ceremony went perfectly. After my initial boo hooing, it was all good. The priest cried, we hugged, we kissed...
See? No more tears. So we left the church and then headed to the back waiting area until the guests had left so we could take pictures. While we were back there, the priest thought he was super hilarious and brought out 3 little girls and told me to designate which ones would be brides and which would be nuns. I seriously hope the videographer caught this. I'm not sure who was more horrified...them or me. It was just SO wrong!! I decided that it would be best to say brides...not that there's anything wrong with nuns but seriously, you could give a kid a complex with something like that. Pictures went well until we went outside and realized that the limo driver had totally left with all our bags/phones etc. I was livid. Slight segue...I have never written such a horrifying review for a company ever. Not only did that happen but the customer service was actually even worse. But anyhow back to happier things.
So after wrapping up at the church we got to the reception. It went so fast that I still can't believe it. We had the first dance, ate amazing food, had the most epic cupcake tower ever, all the decorations that we spent so much time on were gorgeous and we had an amazing getaway car. We hardly danced, missed saying hello to a bunch of guests, had a cupcake thief before the cake was cut, some slight wedding party drama and had a song skip and had to pick a replacement for the bouquet toss. And yet, it was all still wonderful. There were so many friends and relatives we hadn't seen in a long time (some we had never met), loud bad singing and some pretty fantastically awful dance moves. I would say it was a huge success.
Sunday, October 21, 2012
Wedding Weekend Part 1: The Rehearsal
While its still fresh in my mind, I thought I would start blogging about our wedding. It would be a crazy long read if I did it all at once and I'm pretty sure that I'll take several days to type it all out. I'm not sure how I'll break the weekend up and it will cover basically everything that went down. I'll won't air anyone else's dirty laundry for sure but I will say that having one of Tim's groomsmen on his side and 2 girls that dated him on my side was probably not one of our brightest moves. That's basically all that's worth saying about that. Moving on....
![]() |
| The table set up once we were done...before the final touches were added by the caterer and decorator. |
Wednesday, October 10, 2012
FIVE
Tuesday, October 2, 2012
And a Happy Hour it Was
Last week my friend at work asked if I wanted to grab a drink after work. As silly as it sounds, I was SO excited that my life has finally slowed down enough that I could actually say yes. So we decided to go to a local pub, however that was soooo crowded that even the neighboring businesses and streets had full parking lots. Don't get me wrong, that place is fantastic but being in a small over crowded place after a long work day is SO not my scene. So we decided to go across the street to a cute little cafe. I had a mango martini (which from what I saw looked like equal parts of mango nectar and mango vodka) and ordered an AMAZING cheese platter.

Our wedding pictures came back and they are just so amazing. I can't rave about Sandi enough. When Tim and I had first been engaged and were setting up the wedding budget, we went through all of the things that were really important to us. For me it was the pictures because at the end of the day, that's all that is left. Here's a sneak peek...
They're all gorgeous and fantastic. Sandi did such a phenomenal job. I'll post more once I release the photo link and when I blog about the wedding (slowly coming along). Such a lovely day.
Tonight I'm a lone wolf (oooow-wooooooo). Tim's in class, its raining pretty heavily and until we have word on the apartment, we're a little stuck on packing. I cooked a quick dinner earlier but now I think I'm going to use the evening to relax and watch some tv shows online. I think Tim and I are both looking forward to actually being able to watch tv...on the television. When it airs. Just a few weeks more until cable at the new place! For now, its back to Bones only a week late.
Tuesday, September 25, 2012
Wedding Weekend Part 2: Wedding Preparation
Around 6:00 Saturday morning, all hope of sleeping had stopped for this girl. I woke up, slowly got myself together and stumbled downstairs for breakfast. For what its worth, I have to say that my stay at Country Inn and Suites was amazing and I will definitely make a point to stay at one whenever I can. The breakfast was seriously restaurant quality. Anywhere that gives me a phenomenal free breakfast has a special place in my heart. Not to mention that the room was spectacular, the staff was really helpful, I could keep going on but I'll stop. Because this post is not about a review for the hotel.
So onward. Breakfast. Awesome. It was all carbs and sugar. Eggs that I haven't seen prepared tend to scare me so no protein (minus some bacon) but I had a banana, a small apple danish, homefries, orange juice and coffee. I figured I probably would be too nervous to eat later so I chowed down. The girls slowly gathered together and by 9 AM we were all at the salon getting primped and pretty.
My hair woman, Amanda is seriously the best thing that ever happened to my hair. She gets that when I say half an inch, I mean half an inch. Although frequently she tells me that I don't want what I think I want and when she's done making her argument for what I really want, my hair gets done HER way. This day was no different. I wanted my hair BIG because it photographs rather tight (amazing for the girl who normally has a fro). Every time that I thought my hair was a little off or lopsided, she would just smile and say she knew and had a giant chunk of hair come from nowhere to fill it in. She's also giving me my post wedding chop but thats another story for another time. She also told Matron of Honor M to "not ruin her masterpiece" and how to easily remove my veil. It seriously lost only one bobby pin the whole night and had 2 little escape curls throughout the day.
After hair, I sat with Carmen who did an amazing job on my makeup. The five girls in my bridal party all had their makeup and hair done too so when I wrapped up, I took 3 with me while the other 2 had their final touches done. Let me tell you, for this stress monster, I was cool as a cucumber when we were getting ready. Seriously. No nerves. All awesome. I got dressed with no issue, was more curious about what everyone else was doing than focusing on the wedding, had a really great prep photo session with the photographer and it was all smooth sailing. When Sandi finished shooting (amazing amazing A-MAZ-ING photographer btw), the parents left and the girls and I waited for the fun to begin. The limo showed up about 40 minutes before the wedding, we all hustled into the limo and just waited since the church was only 5 minutes away. That's when the nervousness set in. I won't go into detail but my nerves mess with my stomach which involved completely escaping my dress (about half an hour of unlacing and re-lacing) and we got to the church about 3 minutes after the processional was supposed to start.
Monday, September 24, 2012
Back to the Drill
I'm having a huge mental conflict about moving. I think I had this the last time I moved too. I know the finances will work themselves out (hardcore budgeter here) but right now I'm just so concerned. I'm kind of notorious about living within my means. Always. Knock on wood, other than whatever I haven't paid off from last month yet, I don't have any debts or credit card interest. Tim just has his truck loan which we're hoping that he can pay off in the next month. Its just scary joining finances... especially since he owns his own business and his pay is not set and consistent like mine. Let's just say it doesn't make me long for my freelancing again to say the least! So a heavy duty spending month for us next month! We have:
-October rent due for this apartment 10/1 (literally put the check in the mail tonight)
-mid-October rent (about half) due approx 10/15 (final move in date TBD)
-new rent (full) due 11/1
-3 truck payments for Tim
-credit card balances due by 10/20
-a new bed for the new apartment (squeezing 2 adults in a full bed has definitely not been pretty)
Plus all the other fun odds and ends that come with a move. November I'm co-hosting a bachelorette party (probably in Atlantic City) and then December brings lots of Christmas shopping and the honeymoon. Not to mention MY BIRTHDAY (I don't think I'll ever be one of those women that's too old to love her birthday). So I will be very thankful when January comes around and we can finally start building our savings back up. I'm hoping that we can get some new furniture for the new place too...I think all we'll need will be bar stools, a couch (maybe chairs too) and the bed as far as big pieces of furniture. Bookcases and those sorts of things are much easier to get wherever without a ton of thought (I'm not worried about super nice expensive pieces until we're in a house and not moving things every other year).
I guess this girl should probably get to bed since there's another 9 hour day waiting for me in...nope, not even going to count the hours. Its too tragic. Good night world!
Sunday, September 23, 2012
Sunday Wine Down
So pinot noir. Good stuff. I tend to be more of a whites girl myself, but we had a few bottles leftover from the wedding so I thought it would be nice to work on this wine while working on winding down tonight. I can say that it was AWFUL with my balsamic vinegar couscous...seriously like licking black pepper (Tim said black pepper and mud so yeah...not good). On the other hand, we had a left over s'more cookies from the wedding...pinot noir and chocolate are apparently amazing together. It was good with a graham cracker too.
Saturday, September 22, 2012
Zonked
So Thursday Tim came to work to meet quite a few of the coworkers. For an office known for pulling pranks, I was a little bit concerned when they said that they had a "special surprise for us." It truly was a very special surprise though. We had registered for a few oddball items during our wedding registry process...some were ungodly things to dream about...including a $400 wine bar. Now I'm sure you just read that and went "No way, you got a $400 wine bar?!" NOPE! They pulled funds together and got me a custom made wine bar that is almost identical to the one that we registered for, except made with solid wood throughout instead of chipboard. It was so sweet and unexpected. It will be perfect to house all our leftover wedding wine and the awesome decanter that my friend C gave us for our wedding.
Two bedrooms. 1295 square feet. 3 weeks.
Friday, September 21, 2012
A new start
This is truly a new start for so many reasons. I just got married this past weekend to my amazing husband Tim. We're a little old school so despite the fact that we dated for 5 years, we've never lived together. We're almost a week into living together and although its been a little bit of an adjustment, I feel like its going pretty well considering that we're living in my 1 bedroom 700some square foot apartment. Next month we will be moving into a 1295 square foot apartment *cue the Alleluia choir* with two bedrooms, a bigger kitchen and a HUGE balcony. We really can't wait.
So the title of this blog...where to begin. I'm not the world's most fit (or unfit) person. I tend to yoyo between hardcore eating well and working out to being a bit of a couch potato. Tim and I are big wine drinkers and while not much makes me WANT to exercise, if I know that there's wine as a possibility (or something I really want to eat) I will definitely take a massive walk to counteract the calories. So this is it...my little blog. I won't guarantee posting regularly or even what I'll be posting about. I do hope that I am able to keep up with it and generally keep a good record of our going ons as well as projects around the apartment.













